Label Focus - Mute 4.0

Label Focus


A true British powerhouse - there is little that has come out in the past 40 years that hasn't been released - or at least - influenced by artists on this fantastic label. At the forefront of post-punk and electronic music having given breaks to Depeche Mode, A Certain Ratio, Throbbing Gristle, Goldfrapp, Moby ... the list goes on.

The label was launched in 1978 from Daniel Miller's bedroom, in order to release the 7" from The Normal (T.V.O.D. / Warm Leatherette), recorded by Miller himself on a KORG 700S keyboard and a TEAC four-track recorder. He went on to sign Deutsch Amerikanische Freundschaft (D.A.F.), Fad Gadget, Throbbing Gristle and Depeche Mode in quick succession.

But Mute have never been ones for looking back. This is about looking forward, this is not an anniversary, but an anti-versary. New albums from Du Blonde, Lost Under Heaven and Liars are on their way, but in the meantime, Rough Trade and Mute have been working closely together to re-release the records nearest and dearest to the label's heart.

Clockwise from top left: Daniel Miller; Silicon Teens; Lost Under Heaven; Josh T Pearson; Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds (Centre)

See all titles on Mute Records here.


Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant