Skip to main content


Asylum is a US label that was formed in 1971 by David Geffen and Eliot Roberts. Initially specializing in mainstream rock and singer/songwriters, the label signed notable artists such as Judee Sill, David Blue, Jackson Browne, and Jo Jo Gunne. In 1974, Asylum scored a major coup by signing Bob Dylan during his brief estrangement from Columbia Records. Throughout the 1970s, the label released albums by influential artists like Tom Waits, Joni Mitchell, Warren Zevon, as well as former members of Eagles, Byrds, and Buffalo Springfield.

From 1971 to 1973, Asylum was distributed by Atlantic Records. However, in August 1973, Warner Communications combined Elektra and Asylum Records to form Elektra/Asylum Records. Geffen left the label in 1980 to establish Geffen Records. Although the Asylum name was retired from new releases in 1989, it made occasional appearances for country releases in 1992.

In 2004, after Warner Music's acquisition by private investors led by Edgar Bronfman Jr., Asylum was reactivated as a southern-oriented hip-hop label. It also became the distributor for Rap-A-Lot Records and Swisha House Records. Despite being considered an independent label within Warner Music structure today; its numbering system and UPC prefix align with Elektra Records.


Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant