Factory Benelux

Factory Benelux is the Belgian counterpart of Factory Records, established in Brussels in 1980 by journalists Michel Duval and Annik Honoré. The label operated under the umbrella of Les Disques Du Crépuscule until 1988. It initially released singles by A Certain Ratio, Durutti Column, and Section 25, which were spare recordings donated by Factory Records. Over the next few years, Factory Benelux exclusively released music from New Order, Crispy Ambulance, The Names, Minny Pops, Cabaret Voltaire, Crawling Chaos, Stockholm Monsters, and The Wake. In addition to pioneering dance singles by Quando Quango and 52nd Street.

Between 1983 and 1986, Factory Benelux mainly focused on European editions of regular Factory releases. This period also saw production work by members of New Order under the name Be Music for artists like Life, Nyam Nyam, Surprize,and Lavolta Lakota. Notably during this time were two complete albums by The Durutti Column: Short Stories for Pauline and Circuses and Bread.

The label stopped releasing new material in 1988 but retained its name for early CD reissues through Crépuscule in the early '90s. In 2012,FBN was revived with James Nice at the helm who previously worked at Crépuscule during the late '80s.The revived F


Product type
Factory Benelux


Release Date

Most Relevant