Skip to main content


Ministry is the brainchild of Al Jourgensen. Beginning in 1981, playing synth-pop with a strong disco influence, they released their first 12" on Wax Trax! Records, before being signed to Arista and releasing their debut "With Sympathy," in 1983. After a falling out with the label and the direction of the project, Jourgensen returned to Wax Trax! to release a series of 12" Singles, including "Everyday Is Halloween," which became an instant club favorite and would go on to become one of the band's most popular songs.

Jourgensen then signed to Sire/Warner Bros. Records in 1985. Ministry's second album "Twitch," was produced by Adrian Sherwood, and had a more menacing sound reflecting Jourgensen's interest in the international EBM (electronic body music) scene of the time. Ministry's third album, "The Land of Rape and Honey," (1988), was both a natural evolution of their aesthetic and a sharp break with previous pop tendencies and, with the arrival of Paul Barker and other new members, Ministry's sound developed into a crossover between EBM, industrial, and heavy metal.

Their experimentation with heavy metal continued with subsequent albums like "The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste" (1989) where guitar took on much more importance to their sound. Ministry's breakthrough album, "Ps


Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant