The Mountain Goats

The Mountain Goats are an American indie folk band formed in Claremont, California by singer-songwriter John Darnielle. Although initially a solo project, Darnielle has collaborated with various musicians over the years. In the 1990s, they gained recognition for their lo-fi home recordings and releases on cassette or vinyl formats. Since 2002, the band has recorded studio albums with a full lineup. Currently based in Durham, North Carolina.


  • 1991-1996: John Darnielle and Rachel Ware
  • 2002-2007: John Darnielle and Peter Hughes
  • 2007-2015: John Darnielle, Peter Hughes, Jon Wurster
  • 2015-present: John Darnielle, Peter Hughes, Jon Wuster, Matt Douglas

Occasional members:

  • 1991-1995: Sarah Arslanian, Amy Piatt, Rosanne Lindley
  • 1995-present: Franklin Bruno, Erik Friedlander, John Vanderslice


The Mountain Goats
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant