Friday, December 8th, 2017

Rough Trade NYC

Tickets available

Share this event:

Haerts square

With Wilsen

Doors 8pm / Show 9pm

Tickets $18

Ages 21 & Over

A Bowery Presents Event


Haerts is a German, New York based indie pop band consisting of of Nini Fabi (vocals) and Ben Gebert (keyboards, guitars).

The band was originally formed by Fabi and Gebert in 2011. The longtime collaborators grew up in Munich, Germany and had previously performed as the duo Nini&Ben. They moved to New York City in 2010, where they became Haerts and were joined by band members Garrett Ienner (guitars) and Derek McWilliams (bass). They eventually signed with Columbia Records in 2012.

Haerts' 2012 debut single, "Wings", received regular airplay throughout the United States and was also featured as the song of the day by KEXP-FM. Their second single, "All the Days", was voted "Song of the Summer" by Elle magazine and featured in the 2013 film Carrie.

The group's first EP, Hemiplegia, was released in October 2013. It was produced by St. Lucia and contains both of their original single releases.

The band's self titled debut album was released on October 27, 2014. Alongside, the debut album's release, two singles have spawned from the album, "Giving Up" and a later release "Be the One".

In January, 2016 Haerts released the short film, "POWER/LAND", with video artist and continuous collaborator Julian Klincewicz along with the soundtrack EP "POWER/LAND".

In 2017 they have released two singles off their upcoming second studio album, "Your Love" on March 3. 2017 as well as "No Love for the Wild" on May 19.2017.


Even in the frenetic metropolis of New York there are moments of still. You have to wait, bide your time until the early hours, but in the short window between closing time and the early-morning commuters you can find a twilight period of pure, nocturnal, solitude.

‘I Go Missing In My Sleep’ - Wilsen’s debut full-length album - was born during these snatched moments. Ensconced in a tiny rented apartment in Brooklyn, Tamsin Wilson would sit, wait for the twilight and then begin moulding her day’s thoughts into fragments of song.

Using a nylon-stringed acoustic to pick out gentle melodies she drew inspiration from this pre-dawn. The calmness and soundlessness. Everyone asleep and inactive. During these moments time slowed and creative threads could be following without interruption; without the fear of someone hearing her mid-process.

What slowly, methodically, took shape was a collection of delicate songs that valued, even cherished, the creative power of stillness.

The finger-picked melodies, dreamy whistles and Tamsin’s whisper of a voice, all of which underpin ‘I Go Missing In My Sleep’, were born during these moments of still, but it wasn’t until bandmates Drew Arndt & Johnny Simon’s involvement that the use of lightness and space was drawn into beautiful contrast with moments of post-rock ambition.

Coming together - alongside producer & friend Ben Baptie - initially in the UK, then upstate New York, before concluding at The Farm Studio in rural Philadelphia, the trio nudged and corralled each delicate wisp of a song, gradually layering it with washes of icy guitar, short staccato drums & Arndt’s restrained basslines.

The band’s previous offerings, 2013’s double-EP ‘Sirens’ & 2014’s EP ‘Magnolia’, had hinted at a creative trio wrestling to balance the folk intimacy of Tamsin’s hushed tones with a more muscular, experimental side. With ‘I Go Missing In My Sleep’ there’s a sense of much more at play than a mere delicate balancing act; this is a rich, dynamic mix that’s coalesced into a singularly musical form that’s pure, confident and unique.

From the opening creep of ‘Centipede’, a shuffling, eerie masterpiece that questions self-honesty, through the multi-layered fan-favourite ‘Garden’, buoyant on a bed of intricate finger-picking & recently surpassing 2.5 million Spotify streams, and onto the climactic ‘Told You’, this is a record of detailed perfection.

Announcing the record in early February with new track ‘Heavy Steps’, Wilsen will slowly begin the process of introducing the outside world to their moments of crystallised calm, before unveiling ‘I Go Missing In My Sleep’ in full in late spring 2017.

Forget the Quiet, things are about to get a little Noisy.