Thurston Moore signing

Saturday, 20th May 2017

From 2:00pm to 2:58pm

Rough Trade NYC

Thurston Moore will be in store signing on Saturday, May 20 at 2pm in support of his new record Rock and Roll Consciousness

2pm // Purchase Rock and Roll Consciousness from Rough Trade for entry

Thurston Moore entered The Church studios in London to record new songs with producer Paul Epworth. Thurston, the founder of seminal US alternative rock experimentalists Sonic Youth and Paul, the celebrated producer and co-writer of Adele, The Pop Group, Florence & the Machine et al created a dynamic vibratory match (with the realization that they were both Leos, on the cusp of Cancer, born on 25 July.) The session was mixed by Randall Dunn (Marissa Nadler , Sunn 0))), Earth, Boris) at Avast! Studios in Seattle.

Thurston Moore Group had been touring since the critically acclaimed release The Best Day LP/CD (2014, Matador) that introduced the core members James Sedwards (guitar), My Bloody Valentine's Deb Googe (bass) and Sonic Youth's Steve Shelley (drums). Rock n Roll Consciousness is Thurston's focus on this group's strength, beauty and promise, with an unleashing of James Sedwards' brilliant guitar play, Deb Googe's minimalist groove ethic and Steve Shelley's in-the-pocket swing dynamism.

The songs Thurston introduce are expansive, anthemic and exploratory with lyrics, co-written with poet Radio Radieux, investigating and heralding the love between angels, goddess mysticism and a belief in healing through new birth. They range from the opener "Exalted", an unfolding and emotional journey in homage to sacred energy and exaltation, to "Cusp" a springtime charging, propulsive piece with a feeling of Sonic Youth mixing in with My Bloody Valentine to "Turn On" a pop-sonic poem to holy love both intimate and kosmiche to the contemplative mystery of life-defining time travel in "Smoke of Dreams". The record concludes with "Aphrodite", a strange and heavy no wave rocker in salutation to the idol of love, beauty, pleasure, and procreation.

Rock n Roll Consciousness is a new and exhilarating chapter for Thurston Moore, and promises to be a creative highpoint for anyone interested in his legacy of avant-garde music and writing, as strong a statement as anything he has recorded these last three decades - serious and precocious and strangely accessible.

Thurston Moore Group will commence touring springtime 2017 with the line-up of James Sedwards, Deb Googe and Steve Shelley in USA, UK, Europe, Asia and beyond.

1. Exalted (11:54)

(music: Thurston Moore / lyrics: Radio Radieux)

2. Cusp (6:33)

(music: Thurston Moore / lyrics: Radio Radieux)

3. Turn On (10:18)

(music and lyrics: Thurston Moore)

4. Smoke of Dreams (6:04)

(music + lyrics: Thurston Moore)

5. Aphrodite (8:08)

(music: Thurston Moore / lyrics: Radio Radieux + Thurston Moore)

Thurston Moore

Rock n Roll Consciousness

Recorded by Paul Epworth

at The Church Studios, London UK


Mixed by Randall Dunn

at Avast! Recording Co., Seattle WA USA


Mastered by Jason Ward

at CMS, Chicago IL USA


℗ Ecstatic Peace Library (BMI) adm. by Kobalt Music Group

Thurston Moore - guitars, vocals

James Sedwards - guitars

Deb Googe - bass, background vocals

Steve Shelley - drums