Paul Draper (Mansun)

live acoustic performance + album signing

Friday, 22nd March 2019

Rough Trade West

Doors 5:00pm
On-stage 6:00pm
Signing after show

Share this event:

Proudly partnered with:

Mansun 001

Paul Draper (Mansun) will be live in-store at Rough Trade WEST to perform a special live acoustic set of tracks, celebrating the re-issue of Mansun's 'Six' album, released 22nd March on Kscope.

5.00pm Doors open + Album / wristband collection

6.00pm Paul Draper Live acoustic performance

6.30pm Album signing

Paul Draper is best known as the main songwriter, producer and lead vocalist with British rock band Mansun. Playing intelligent alternative rock with an ambitious outlook that found room for punk, electronic, prog, post-rock and glam influences, Mansun broke through in the mid 90’s after extensive touring led to a No.1 debut album, attack Of The Grey Lantern and the follow up cult classic SIX.

SIX will be rereleased on 22nd March.

Six mansun

Mansun’s audacious and infectious top 10 album remastered for 21st-Anniversary. Mansun were one of the most iconic and innovative British bands of the late 90s. Having signed to the legendary record label Parlophone (home to The Beatles, Radiohead and Sigur Ros) they released four albums - Attack of the Grey Lantern (1997), Six (1998), Little Kix (2000) and the compilation Kleptomania following the band’s split - as well as a popular and now rare series of EPs. Tearing up the expectation laid by their smash hit number 1 debut album Attack of the Grey Lantern, Mansun followed up in 1998 with their leftfield cult classic Six. The music is a unification of numerous ideas and inspirations, with elements of pop, electronica and progressive rock. They included a Tchaikovsky sample interlaced with electronic drums and spooky synth lines, references to religious scepticism, Winnie the Pooh, Stanley Kubrick, Marxism and spoken word from the legendary fourth Doctor Who - Tom Baker. Its varied sounds result in dynamic switches mid-track to seemingly new songs, making the album a timeless record and it’s not short on strong individual tracks with the singles Legacy, Being A Girl, Negative and Six. The audio has been fully remastered from the original master tapes by Jon Astley (Van Morrison, The Who, George Harrison, Norah Jones, Rolling Stones).