Curse Of Lono


  • 12subc011
  • £6.99

Curse Of Lono was formed in London in 2015 by singer-songwriter Felix Bechtolsheimer following the breakup of British roots pioneers Hey Negrita. 'We released four records with Hey Negrita, toured all over the world, played at more festivals than I can remember and had a great time doing it but there was a growing sense that it was time for something new. Then I bumped into my old friend Oli Bayston from the band Boxed In, who was producing albums for Domino and Nettwerk as well as working on a solo record. He was involved in a completely different scene, obsessed with Krautrock and Radiohead, which really opened my eyes to new ways of writing and recording.' The collection of songs that emerged formed a stunningly cinematic sound that combines spaced out, harmony-laden Americana with driving, gothic indie-rock. In the summer of 2015 Curse Of Lono added ex-Hey Negrita drummer Neil Findlay, lead guitarist Joe Hazell, bassist Charis Anderson and keyboardist Dani Ruiz Hernandez to the lineup. As a precursor to the release of their debut album in March 2017, Curse Of Lono here present their debut EP, consisting of four songs that form the soundtrack for a short film of inter-connected videos directed by Alex Walker and shot by Bart Sienkiewicz. The film, which stars Grant Masters and Marta Hermida, will be released alongside the EP. To expand on the visual theme, Curse Of Lono spent a day filming at their London studio with live music video producers Ont' Sofa, recording ten live performances which they are releasing monthly on YouTube as The Doghouse Sessions .