We Repeat To Forget

  • Genre UK & EU
  • Released 08/06/18
  • Cat no kap001lp

With Download.

Back in stock. We Repeat To Forget is London-based Kaputt’s long awaited muscular affair of a debut album, delivered with controlled passion. The album is a non-linear time machine – future repetition that grabs you in the here and now, leaving you unable to get it out of your head, as if Stranger Things had existed the first time around. "Whilst Steidinger has all the bite of Sonic Youth’s Kim Gordon, her more endearing moments will lure you in ’til the bitter and raucous end. Without abandoning their influences, Kaputt have jump-started a collection of songs as applicable to the die-hard Interpol fan as to the dancefloor junkie.” (KEXP, Seattle). Track Blow Up These Lights was picked up by Billy Bragg’s Breaking Rocks compilation, with proceeds going to prison inmates. On the other extreme, you could hear it at Topman on repeat. Either way, NME gave it 4 out of 5. We Repeat To Forget builds on the band’s previous releases Family Tree / Water Makes The Blades Blunt and Dishes, termed “a classic” by John Kennedy (Radio X, Dazed and Confused). Steidinger received a Mercury Prize nomination as a founding member of the Go! Team, and after forming Kaputt kept good company by working with Mercury Prize winning producers, Teo Miller (Placebo, Blur, James) and Graham Sutton (These New Puritans, British Sea Power).

LP - With Download.