Morning Velvet Sky

Cardiff-based band Gulp, made up of Guto Pryce (Super Furry Animals) and Lindsey Leven are back with new single Morning Velvet Sky. Mixed by Luke Abbott, the track is taken from their new album, which is coming out in early 2018. The limited 12” vinyl (500 copies) comes complete with a stunning 3am dancefloor remix and dub version from Richard Norris (Beyond the Wizards Sleeve / Circle Sky). In the words of the band Morning Velvet Sky is a song about dawn, with arpeggiating machines. The intent of Morning Velvet Sky is to wrap the listener in a blanket of the fuzzy feeling created by waking up on a warm dewy morning and having appreciation for the beauty in nature when things may not be perfect. Gulp make warm, fuzzy, luscious pop by combining ethereal sounds of both acoustic and electric drums and synths. Their music is like a road trip; the landscape and events along the way, filmic scenes and melodies – from the sun-squinting, flickering saturation and lens flare of the Californian desert, to the gloamin of rural Scottish and Welsh homescapes. The pair are joined by permanent member Gid Goundrey on guitar and various friends on drums including Stuart Kidd (Euros Child / Norman Blake), Kliph Scurlock (Flaming Lips / Gruff Rhys), Gwion Lleweyln (Meilyr Jones) and others.

Featured in: New This Week – 12 January, 2018