Yann Tiersen


  • HSTUMM397
  • £19.99

Hent, a 45-minute composition, is the final release related to Eusa, his ninth studio album and first piano album, which came out on Mute in 2016. The album is available as a limited edition vinyl release, part of the Mute 4.0 anti-versary releases. Eusa was originally conceived as a book of sheet music before a phenomenal reaction to the publication encouraged him to record the piano pieces at Abbey Road. Each track relates to a specific place on the island of Eusa (or Ushant in English), a small island positioned in the Celtic sea between Brittany and Cornwall. The tracks were each conceived in and named after a location on the island, with five extracts from Hent (meaning “path” in Breton) linking them together. The new release sees the full composition available for the first time. The field recordings used for Eusa were released on limited edition vinyl in 2016, and an EP The Lost Notebook - Eusa came in the summer. The Lost Notebook - Eusa continues the journey through Eusa, and features two new tracks, originally intended for the album, but not recorded at that time, because they were thought to be lost and were only recently rediscovered.

Featured in: Mute 4.0