Album of the Month - May 2018

Daniel Blumberg - Minus

Artist and musician Daniel Blumberg releases his debut seven-track album on Mute.

Former member of Cajun Dance Party and Yuck, Blumberg assembled seven musicians for the project, each contributor getting a solo on the album’s seven tracks. Co-produced by Peter Walsh, the album slides into your speakers with ominous piano chords, rattling drums and murmurations of strings rubbing shoulders with mysterious percussion. Thematically Minus is an album about breakdowns: relationship breakdowns, mental and physical breakdowns and breakdowns in communication. Both arresting and progressive, the work is sure to establish Daniel Blumberg as one of Britain’s most unique contemporary voices.

Albums of the Month - May 2018

1. Daniel Blumberg - Minus

3. Mark Peters - Innerland

4. Pinkshinyultrablast - Miserable Miracles

5. DJ Koze - Knock Knock

6. Speedy Ortiz - Twerp Verse

7. Isaac Gracie - Isaac Gracie

8. Max Richter - The Blue Notebooks

9. Otzeki - Binary Childhood

10. Jon Hopkins - Singularity