Hot Snakes

Jericho Sirens

  • spcs1224
  • Release Date: March 21st 2018
  • $7.99

Hot Snakes have triumphantly kicked down the door back into our lives with their new album, Jericho Sirens. And amid the mania of non-stop political rhetoric, doom-and-gloom prognostications and omnipresent technology, it’s not a moment too soon. 2011 saw the return of Hot Snakes, with a string of festival shows. Both drummers performed with the band on the songs which they recorded, and the group discussed writing new material. After an additional 6 years of discussions, Hot Snakes returned to the studio in 2017 to commence recording, and the results are, finally, revealed in Jericho Sirens. Musically, Jericho Sirens incorporates the most extreme fringes of the Hot Snakes sound (the vein-bulging, 78-second Why Don’t It Sink In? the pounding downstrokes of Having Another?), while staying true to longstanding influences such as the Wipers, Dead Moon and Suicide on propulsive tracks such as Six Wave Hold-Down, one of the first written for the project during a New Year’s Eve 2017 session in Philadelphia. Other moments like the choruses of Jericho Sirens and Psychoactive nod to classic-rock titans such as AC/DC and Ozzy Osbourne. Jericho Sirens was recorded in short bursts over the past year in Philadelphia and San Diego, with assistance from longtime bassist Gar Wood. Kourkounis and Rubalcaba, both of whom drummed on prior Hot Snakes releases but never on the same one, contributed throughout.

LP+ - Limited Loser Black Vinyl with Download.

LP - Clear Vinyl LP.

CD - Standard CD.

Tape - Standard Cassette.

Featured in: Dima Albums Of The Year 2018