New This Week

October 19th, 2018

Every Friday we pick out our Top 10 new releases. We hope you love them...

John Carpenter - Halloween - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

John Carpenter has changed the course of both horror cinema and synth music forever. Four decades after he wrote his ominous, off-kilter piano theme that added enthralling suspense to the original Halloween movie, he's now releasing a newly reworked version for the upcoming movie reboot. The new version of “The Shape Returns” features contributions from both Carpenter’s son, Cody, and his godson, Daniel Davies, the son of the Kinks’ Dave Davies. It’s heavy on atmospheric synths, jolting rhythms, electronic percussion, eerie piano-driven pieces and the icy theme that everyone associates with the Halloween movies. While this new score was made with a few more resources than his 1978 low-budget masterpiece, its musical spirit is still sharp as a knife. Available here on Rough Trade Exclusive Orange and Black Starburst Vinyl, Indie Exclusive Pumpkin Orange Vinyl, Standard Black Vinyl and CD via Sacred Bones Records.

Cloud Nothings - Last Building Burning

Last Building Burning is a return to Cleveland outfit Cloud Nothing’s sharpest form — the unhinged, feverish, guitar-heavy sound that they explode with onstage — without their early angst. This eight-track album is the product of only eight days with Sunn O))) producer Randall Dunn in his Texas studio Sonic Ranch. It features an all-around thunderous energy that can be felt through Dylan Baldi’s rapid-fire snarl and vivid screeching crescendo. We have it available now on Limited Edition Rough Trade NYC Exclusive Fuchsia Colored Vinyl, Indie Exclusive Clear Vinyl, Standard Black Vinyl, CD and Cassette via Carpark Records.

Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit - Live From The Ryman

Grammy Award-winning Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit released a live recording from their six-night sold out run at Nashville's Ryman Auditorium in 2017. The album spotlights Isbell's progressive-Americana/alternative country sound and the band's focused, fluid swing. Different than his previous live record Live from Alabama, Live From the Ryman features the addition of both Amanda Shires' backing vocals and haunting fiddle along with Sadler Vaden (Drivin N Cryin)'s sharp guitar as compliment. The set opens with the electric clang of "Hope The High Road" and concludes with acoustic melody of "If We Were Vampires" thirteen songs later. Available on Indie Exclusive Green Double Vinyl, Standard Black Double Vinyl and Standard CD via Southeastern Records.

Empress Of - Us

Under the name Empress Of, Honduran-American vocalist/songwriter Lorely Rodriguez created an introspective, self-empowering electropop record that shows off her feather-light/Björk-esque vocals, impressive range, and rightful placement as Stereogum's Album of the Week. After releasing a variety of dreamier tracks on her 2015 full-length debut Me, this time on Us she established more of a danceable and spontaneous sound that embraces percussion and sunnier themes. The first song on the album, "Everything To Me," concludes with a Prince-style spoken-word monologue from special guest collaborator Devonté Hynes (Blood Orange). This albums sits happily on the line between indie/DIY and mainstream pop. Available on Standard Black Vinyl and Standard CD via Terrible Records.

Will Oldham - Songs Of Love And Horror

Beloved singer-songwriter Will Oldham releases a solo acoustic album. Written originally for his long-running Palace and Bonnie “Prince” Billy aliases, each song was instead recorded, sung and performed by Will alone, one voice and one guitar. Sharing a title with his upcoming lyric book, Songs of Love and Horror features solo acoustic renditions of songs from the both his previous Bonnie and Palace catalogs, including “I See a Darkness,” “New Partner" as well as a cover of Richard and Linda Thompson's “Strange Affair.” Available on Standard Black Vinyl via Drag City.

Rough Trade's Top 10 New Releases This Week:

2. Cloud Nothings - Last Building Burning

3. Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit - Live From The Ryman

4. Empress Of - Us

5. Will Oldham - Songs Of Love And Horror

6. Yoko Ono - Warzone

7. Haruomi Hosono - Hosono House

8. Neneh Cherry - Broken Politics

9. Minus the Bear - Fair Enough

10. Elle King - Shake The Spirit

View All New Releases | View New Releases by Genre