The Move

Looking On

  • ECLEC22547.
  • Release Date: May 13th 2016
  • $22.99

Esoteric Recordings are proud to announce the release of a newly re-mastered and expanded edition of the classic 1970 album by THE MOVE, "Looking On". Of all of the groups to emerge in Britain in the latter half of the 1960s, THE MOVE was arguably one of the finest. A powerful act on stage, the group were blessed with one of the most imaginative songwriters of his generation in Roy Wood. Of all the Move albums, "Looking On" is probably the most experimental and progressive in its structure. The departure of vocalist Carl Wayne in early 1970 and the arrival of Jeff Lynne in the ranks (from the acclaimed Idle Race) saw The Move take flight in previously unimagined ways. Lynne's compositional skills perfectly complimented Roy Wood's with his expansive track 'What?', whilst Wood excelled himself on the album's title track and 'Feel Too Good', along with the singles 'Brontosaurus' and 'When Alice Comes Back to the Farm'. Newly re-mastered, this 2 CD Deluxe edition of "Looking On" has also been expanded to include 14 bonus tracks encompassing the single B-side 'Lightnin' Never Strikes Twice', alternate mixes, and seven tracks and two interviews recorded for the BBC in 1970, all of which appear on CD for the first time. This expanded deluxe edition also includes a lavishly illustrated booklet that fully restores the original album artwork and features a new essay by Mark Paytress and also includes a poster.