Skip to main content

New York Dolls

New York Dolls was a band formed in December 1971 and active until early 1975. The initial lineup included Johnny Thunders, Rick Rivets, Arthur Kane, Billy Murcia, and David Johansen. Sylvain Sylvain replaced Rivets in 1972 and the band began playing regularly at the Mercer Arts Center in Lower Manhattan. Despite varying levels of success, they were not widely accepted outside of New York City due to their appearance. Thunders and Nolan left the band in early 1975 while on tour in Florida. The New York Dolls reunited from 2004 to 2011 with Johansen and Sylvain leading a fluid lineup of backing musicians.


New York Dolls
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant