Skip to main content


Autopsy is a death metal band formed in San Francisco in 1987 by ex-Death drummer Chris Reifert, who also handles vocals. The band consists of guitarists Eric Cutler and Danny Coralles, and bassist Ken Sorvari. Autopsy gained recognition with their demo "Critical Madness" in 1988, leading to a record deal with Peaceville records. Their debut album "Severed Survival" was released two years later and featured bass tracks from Steve DiGiorgio of Sadus.

In 1991, Autopsy released two EPs, "Fiend for Blood" and "Retribution for the Dead," as well as an LP titled "Mental Funeral." Despite the release of their third full-length album "Acts of the Unspeakable," which included new bassist Josh Barohn (formerly of Suffocation), the band struggled to gain traction. However, this album became known for its disturbing cover art.

After a period of little activity, Autopsy returned in 1995 with the album "Shitfun," featuring yet another new bassist Freeway Migliore. Following its release, the band disbanded and pursued other projects. In 2001, they released the compilation album "Torn from the Grave."

In celebration of the 20th anniversary re-release of their debut album "Severed Survival," Autopsy temporarily reunited to record two new songs for a


Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant