Skip to main content

Godspeed You! Black Emperor

Godspeed You! Black Emperor is a Canadian post-rock band formed in 1994 in Montreal, Quebec. Originally known as Godspeed You Black Emperor!, the band later changed their name to Godspeed You! Black Emperor. They went on hiatus between 2004 and 2009. With a unique experimental sound, they specialize in instrumental music.

The band consists of Mike Moya on guitar, Efrim Menuck on guitar, Mauro Pezzente on bass, David Bryant on guitar, Thierry Amar on bass, Sophie Trudeau on violin, Aidan Girt on percussion, and Tim Herzog also on percussion.

Please note that any references to the [a=God Speed You Black Emperor!] cassette release from 1994 should be directed to the solo project of Efrim Menuck.


Godspeed You! Black Emperor
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant