Skip to main content

Joy Division

Joy Division was a British punk/post-punk/new wave band formed in 1976 in Salford, Greater Manchester. Originally named Warsaw, they quickly changed their name to Joy Division at the start of 1978. The band gained recognition with the release of their first EP. Tragically, lead vocalist Ian Curtis took his own life on May 18, 1980. Following this devastating event, the remaining members formed New Order, as agreed upon prior to Curtis's death.The band consisted of Ian Curtis on vocals and occasional guitar, Bernard Sumner on guitar and keyboards, Peter "Hooky" Hook on bass guitar and backing vocals, and Stephen Morris on drums and percussion.Despite their short-lived career, Joy Division left an indelible mark on the music industry with their unique sound that blended punk rock with post-punk and new wave influences. Their haunting lyrics and atmospheric melodies continue to resonate with fans around the world.


Joy Division
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant
Album artwork for Substance by Joy Division


Joy Division

£11.99 - £37.99

Album artwork for Still by Joy Division


Joy Division

£12.99 - £59.99