Skip to main content


Mayhem is a black metal band hailing from Ski/Oslo, Norway. Formed in 1984-1993 and then again in 1995, they have become notorious for their dark history. This includes the tragic suicide of singer Per Yngve Ohlin, the murder of Øystein Aarseth by Varg Vikernes, and a series of church arsons that led to Vikernes' conviction.

The current lineup consists of Jørn "Necrobutcher" Stubberud on bass, Jan Axel "Hellhammer" Blomberg on drums, Attila Csihar on vocals, Morten "Teloch" Iversen on guitar, and Charles "Ghul" Hedger on guitar.

Over the years, Mayhem has seen various former members including Kjetil Manheim on drums/percussions, Sven Erik "Maniac" Kristiansen as vocalist during different periods, Per Yngve "Dead" Ohlin as vocalist until his untimely death in 1991, Louis "Count Grishnackh" Cachet (aka Kristian Vikernes) on bass guitar for a brief period and Snorre "Blackthorn" Ruch and Rune "Blasphemer" Erikson both contributing as guitarists at different times.


Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant