Shocking Blue

Shocking Blue was a Dutch rock group formed in 1967 by former The Motions guitarist Robbie van Leeuwen. The initial line-up consisted of Robbie Van Leeuwen, Fred de Wilde, Klaasje Van Der Wal, and Cornelis van der Beek. After replacing de Wilde with Mariska Veres as their lead vocalist, the group achieved worldwide chart success with their hit single "Venus" in 1969. Over the years, the band went through several member changes before disbanding in 1975. Despite attempts at a relaunch, Shocking Blue's legacy remains rooted in their influential contributions to rock music.

The original members of Shocking Blue included Robbie Van Leeuwen on guitar, sitar, and backing vocals; Fred de Wilde on vocals (1967-1968); Klaasje Van Der Wal on bass guitar (1967-1972); and Cornelis van der Beek on drums (1949 – 1998). Later members included Mariska Veres on vocals (1947 – 2006), Leo Van de Ketterij on guitar (1970-1971) , Martin Van Wijk on guitar (1973-1974), and Henk Smitskamp on bass guitar (1972-1974).

Throughout their career, Shocking Blue collaborated with additional members such as Wim Voermans, Jan Pijnenburg, Michael Eschau


Shocking Blue
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant