Skip to main content


The Four Tops is a U.S. vocal male soul quartet that was formed in 1953 in Detroit as The Four Aims. They gained recognition by backing Carolyn Hayes on her single debut in 1955. With the same lineup for over four decades, they became the main male vocal group for the renowned signwriting and production team of Holland-Dozier-Holland during the 60s. After their departure from Motown, they continued to have charting singles with ABC Records into the late-1970s. Since then, they have recorded for various labels including Motown, Casablanca Records, and Arista.

Inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame in 1990 as performers, The Four Tops are sometimes credited as "The Four Tops." The original members included Lawrence Payton (1953-1997), Levi Stubbs (1953-2000), Renaldo "Obie" Benson (1953-2005), and Abdul "Duke" Fakir (since 1953). Theo Peoples joined in 1998 and Ronnie McNeir joined in 2000. Roquel Payton has been part of the group since 2005.

With an impressive history spanning several decades and multiple record labels, The Four Tops continue to captivate audiences with their timeless soulful sound led by Duke Fakir alongside current members Theo Peoples and Ronnie McNeir.


Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant