Skip to main content

Animal Collective

New York based avant-garde collective from Baltimore, Maryland. The band consists of David Portner, Noah Lennox, Josh Dibb, and Brian Weitz. In the early 2000s, before naming themselves "Animal Collective", the members of the band made few albums under their stage names. These albums are now considered part of Animal Collective's discography and have been re-released under the name Animal Collective.

The first album, Spirit They're Gone Spirit They've Vanished, was released in 2000 under the name Avey Tare and Panda Bear. The second album called Danse Manatee was released a year later under the name Panda, Geologist and Avey. Both albums were later re-released as a double CD under the name Animal Collective.

The first pressing of their 2002 live album Hollinndagain was released under the name Avey Tare, Panda Bear and Geologist. Later reissues were released under the name Animal Collective.


Animal Collective
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant