Skip to main content

De La Soul

De La Soul is an American hip-hop trio formed in 1987 in the Amityville area of Long Island, New York. Known for their eclectic sampling, quirky lyrics, and contributions to jazz rap and alternative hip-hop subgenres, they caught the attention of producer Prince Paul with their demo tape. Their debut album '3 Feet High and Rising' is considered a hip-hop masterpiece. As original members of the Native Tongues collective, their output throughout the '90s influenced hip-hop and are now cult classics. After a hiatus, they returned in 2016 with 'And the Anonymous Nobody.' Unfortunately, original member Trugoy passed away shortly before the release.

De La Soul's individual aliases include Dave Jolicoeur (Trugoy The Dove/Plug Two), Kelvin Mercer (Posdnuos/Plug Won), and Vincent Mason (Pasemaster Mase/Maseo/Plug Three).

Rumors suggest that De La Soul may release a tenth album produced by Pete Rock and DJ Premier.


De La Soul
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant