Skip to main content


New-wave group Devo, formed in 1973 by a group of art students at Kent State University, gained popularity throughout the late 1970s and early 1980s. The band's name is derived from the concept of "de-evolution," which suggests that mankind is devolving instead of evolving. Devo underwent several lineup changes over the years but consistently released material through Booji Boy Records. They achieved mainstream success with their keyboard-heavy sound and produced their biggest hits during this period. After a hiatus in the late 1980s, Devo reunited and continued to tour before releasing their ninth studio album in 2010. Despite the loss of Robert Casale in 2014, Devo continues to perform live with new members.


  • Mark Mothersbaugh: vocals, keyboards, guitar, songwriter
  • Gerald V. Casale: vocals, bass, keyboards, songwriter
  • Bob Mothersbaugh (Bob I): lead guitar, vocals, songwriter
  • Bob Casale (Bob II): rhythm guitar, keyboards, backing vocals, songwriter
  • Jim Mothersbaugh (1974-1976): drums
  • Alan Myers (1976-1984): drums
  • David Kendrick (1986-1990): drums
  • Josh Freese (1996-current): drums
  • Josh


Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant