Joanna Brouk

Joanna Brouk was a composer and poet who became a pioneer of early electronic music. Born in 1949 in St. Louis County, Missouri, she studied under Robert Ashley and Terry Riley at the Mills College Center For Contemporary Music. Blazing her own trail outside of the musical establishment, Brouk created uncompromising electronic and acoustic work of sleek beauty and primal power. Her body of work exists at the nexus between ambient, new age, drone, and classical minimalism—stark in its simplicity, lush in its expanse.

Describing herself as less a composer than a channel, Brouk took inspiration from the frequencies of the natural world and collaborated with artists like *Maggi Payne* and *Bill Maraldo*. Hearing Music is a collection that brings together her beguiling cassette releases along with previously unreleased recordings.

If you enjoy artists such as David Casper, Iasos, Shiho Yabuki, Cybe, JD Emmanuel or Ariel Kalma among others; Joanna Brouk's unique sound will captivate your senses.


Joanna Brouk
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant