Mission Of Burma

Mission Of Burma is a group from Boston, Massachusetts that was formed in February 1979. The band consisted of guitarist/vocalist Roger Miller, bassist/vocalist Clint Conley, drummer/vocalist Peter Prescott, and Martin Swope who handled sonic manipulations. Although the band split up in 1983, they reunited in 2004 to record a new album titled "OnOffOn" with Bob Weston from Shellac replacing Martin Swope for that release.

Their sound is often compared to other influential bands such as Hüsker Dü, Minutemen, fIREHOSE, Wire, Swell Maps, Gang Of Four, Wipers, Pere Ubu, The Soft Boys, The Feelies, The Fall, Pylon, Scratch Acid, Flipper, Meat Puppets Sebadoh Young Marble Giants Mekons The Jesus Lizard Drive Like Jehu.

With their unique blend of post-punk and indie rock elements combined with their energetic live performances and thought-provoking lyrics,
Mission Of Burma has become an iconic figure in the alternative music scene.


Mission Of Burma
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant