Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark

Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark is an English electronic band formed in Wirral, Merseyside, in 1978. The band was initially composed of Paul Humphreys on synthesizers and Andy McCluskey on vocals and bass guitar. They started off under different names such as 'VCL XI' and 'Hitlerz Underpantz'. After their first gig at Eric's in Liverpool, they gained popularity with a series of UK chart hits after switching labels from Factory to DinDisc. Drummer Malcolm Holmes and synth player Dave Hughes joined the band as full members in 1980, with Martin Cooper replacing Hughes later that year.In 1989, Humphreys left the group but McCluskey continued his musical journey with the release of the UK top 5 single 'Sailing On The Seven Seas' in 1991. This was followed by a successful UK top 3 album called 'Sugar Tax'. Eventually, OMD disbanded in 1996.However, in 2007 the classic lineup of Andy McCluskey, Paul Humphreys, Malcolm Holmes, and Martin Cooper reunited for a tour and released a live album titled 'OMD Live: Architecture & Morality & More' in 2008. They continued their musical endeavors with the release of albums like History Of Modern (2010), English Electric (2013), and The Punishment of Luxury (2017). OMD


Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant