Sex Pistols

The Sex Pistols were the most famous and infamous band of the late 70s British punk scene. Their rebellious image combined with a commercial sound created some of the most memorable moments of the 70s. The original line-up consisted of Johnny Rotten on vocals, Steve Jones on guitar, Glen Matlock on bass, and Paul Cook on drums. After their 1978 US tour, the band effectively split up but reformed in 1996 for concert tours and has played live shows off and on since then.

Johnny Rotten (John Lydon) was born on January 31, 1956 and served as the lead vocalist for the Sex Pistols. Steve Jones, born on September 3, 1955, played guitar for the band. Glen Matlock was born on August 27, 1956 and initially played bass before being replaced by Sid Vicious (John Ritchie aka John Beverley) in February 1977. Paul Cook handled drumming duties and was born on July 20, 1956.

In addition to their live performances, the Sex Pistols released live recordings throughout their career. For more information about copyrights related to the band's music catalog, please refer to [l=Sex Pistols].


Sex Pistols
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant