Skip to main content

Sigur Ros

Sigur Rós is an alternative rock band that was formed in 1982 in Glasgow, Scotland. The band has undergone several lineup changes throughout the years, with Bobby Gillespie on vocals since 1984 and Andrew Innes on guitar since 1986. Other current members include Darrin Mooney on drums and Simone Butler on bass.

Over the years, Sigur Rós has had various former members who have contributed to their unique sound. These include Jim Beattie and Robert 'Throb' Young on guitar, Judith Boyle on vocals, Martin St. John on tambourine, Thomas McGurk and Gavin Skinner on drums, Henry Olsen and Gary 'Mani' Mounfield on bass, Paul Harte and Stuart May on guitar, Philip 'Toby' Tomanov and Steve Sidelnyk on drums.

The band's music has been described as atmospheric and ethereal, often incorporating elements of post-rock and shoegaze. Their sound is characterized by lead singer Bobby Gillespie's distinct vocal style and the band's ability to create immersive sonic landscapes.


Sigur Ros
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant