Stereolab formed in London in 1990 by record collector Tim Gane and French chanteuse Laetitia Sadier. They were active between 1990 and 2009, when the band took a 10-year hiatus. In 2019 they reunited for live performances to promote a year-long seven album reissue campaign. Sean O'Hagan was a member from 1993 to 1994 and he continued appearing on later records for occasional guest appearances.

The band consists of Tim Gane on guitar, Laetitia Sadier on vocals, Gina Morris (1991) on vocals, Mary Hansen (1992-2002) (died 2002) on vocals, Martin Kean (1990-1993) on bass, Duncan Brown (1993-1996) on bass, Richard Harrison (1996-1998) on bass, Simon Johns (1998-2009) on bass, Joe Dilworth (1990-1992) on drums, Andy Ramsay (1992-2009, 2019-) on drums, Sean O'Hagan (1993-94), Katharine Gifford(1934–1945), Morgane Lhote(1967–1971), Dominic Jeffery(1957–1967), Joe Watson(1965–1981), Joe Walters(1926–1935).

Throughout their career Stereolab has


Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant