The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble

The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble is a dark jazz group hailing from the Netherlands. Formed in 1999 in Amsterdam, the ensemble was led by Jason Köhnen and Gideon Kiers. With their unique blend of bass, drums, trombone, cello, vocals, and more, they created hauntingly beautiful music that captivated audiences.

Although officially on hiatus since late 2013, The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble left a lasting impact on the music scene. Their last lineup included talented musicians such as Hilary Jeffery on trombone, Nina Hitz on cello, Charlotte Cegarra on vocals and various instruments, Eelco Bosman on guitar and effects, and Sarah "Sadie" Anderson on violin.

Their live performances were enhanced by additional members like Eiríkur Orri Ólafsson on trumpet and sound engineer Ron Goris. They also collaborated with session musicians including Godfried Satan for vocals and Coen Kaldeway for saxophone and bass clarinet.


The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant