The Shaggs

The Shaggs were formed in Fremont, New Hampshire in 1965 by sisters Dorothy "Dot" Wiggin (vocals/lead guitar), Betty Wiggin (vocals/rhythm guitar), and Helen Wiggin (drums) at the encouragement and insistence of their parents.

In 1969, they recorded and released their debut full-length album, Philosophy of the World on Third World Records. They were joined by their sister Rachel Wiggin on bass for the song, "That Little Sports Car." Despite defying their parents' expectations of stardom, The Shaggs disappeared without a trace.

In 1975, the sisters entered the studio again but faced obstacles due to the death of their father/manager. This resulted in years of being unpublished and eventually led to the group's dissolution. However, years after their break-up, their debut album was rediscovered and celebrated as an example of art brut/outsider music.


The Shaggs
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant