Skip to main content

The Velvet Underground

The Velvet Underground is a rock 'n' roll group hailing from New York. They are widely recognized for their association with Andy Warhol's artwork and are often regarded as one of the most significant and influential groups of their time.

Formed in the 1960s, the original members included Lou Reed on vocals, guitar, and piano; John Cale on vocals, electric viola, organ, and bass guitar; Sterling Morrison on vocals, guitar, and bass guitar; and Maureen Tucker on percussion. Although Angus MacLise was the initial drummer, he did not officially record with the band.

In 1996, The Velvet Underground was honored by being inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame as performers. Their unique sound and artistic contributions continue to resonate with music enthusiasts worldwide.


The Velvet Underground
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant