Skip to main content

Yellow Magic Orchestra

Yellow Magic Orchestra is a Japanese electropop band that was formed in 1978. The band consists of Haruomi Hosono on bass, Yukihiro Takahashi on drums, and Ryuichi Sakamoto on keyboards. Originally conceived as a one-off studio project by Hosono, the band gained popularity with their first album and went on to become pioneers of electronic music. Their use of synthesizers, samplers, and digital recording technology set them apart and influenced many modern artists. Although they stopped working together in 1984, the members continued to collaborate and released a reunion album in 1993.

In the early 2000s, Hosono and Takahashi reunited in a project called Sketch Show, occasionally joined by Sakamoto. They later proposed renaming the unit "Human Audio Sponge" when Sakamoto participates. Yellow Magic Orchestra's singles such as "Technopolis," "Rydeen," and "Kimi Ni Mune Kyun" achieved success on the Oricon chart in Japan.

Their albums like "Solid State Survivor," "Public Pressure," and "Naughty Boys" also topped the Oricon chart and sold millions of copies worldwide. With their innovative sound and enduring influence, Yellow Magic Orchestra remains an iconic name in electronic music.


Yellow Magic Orchestra
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant