Skip to main content

John Adams

John Adams (b. 1947) is an American minimalist composer and conductor from East Concord, NH. He is widely recognized as a leading figure in contemporary classical music. Adams is the director of The San Francisco Conservatory New Music Ensemble and has made significant contributions to the field of composition.

Some of his most notable works include "Short Ride In A Fast Machine" (1986), "Harmonielehre" (1985), and the minimalistic masterpiece "Shaker Loops" (1978). He also composed the Pulitzer-winning choral piece "On The Transmigration Of Souls" (2002), which pays tribute to the victims of the 9-11 attacks.

In addition to his instrumental compositions, Adams has written several acclaimed operas such as "Nixon in China" (1987) and "Doctor Atomic" (2005). His diverse body of work showcases his ability to create powerful musical narratives that resonate with audiences worldwide.


John Adams
Product type


Release Date

Most Relevant